Grass testing Nitrogen

bk1991

So what way is best to get the nitrogen levels tested in grass and is there any other tests that should be done for cutting silage ? I have put 4 bags of 18/6/12 out on the silage ground which wasnt grazed since oct so theres a fair bit of grass on field and i dont want it to go too long .
Bearingin mind I am only learning the past 2 years as the bods man usualy took care of that side of things . I know i let the grass go to stemy the first year .

So what way is best to get the nitrogen levels tested in grass and is there any other tests that should be done for cutting silage ? I have put 4 bags of 18/6/12 out on the silage ground which wasnt grazed since oct so theres a fair bit of grass on field and i dont want it to go too long .
Bearingin mind I am only learning the past 2 years as the bods man usualy took care of that side of things . I know i let the grass go to stemy the first year .

When did you spread the fertiliser? Grass uses around two units of nitrogen per growing day. You can get the Grass tested if you're still doubtful.

Was out the 22 of april. So that would leave it roughly 27th may ? I was chatting a dairy man and he told me to try get tested before it incase its gone before the 2unit day guide ? Is it worth it ?

Was out the 22 of april. So that would leave it roughly 27th may ? I was chatting a dairy man and he told me to try get tested before it incase its gone before the 2unit day guide ? Is it worth it ?
Get it tested. Simple enough to do. And a cheap insurance.

Cutting in the afternoon and wilting for 24hrs will give higher sugar levels in the grass so will help for better quality silage if your inclined to cut a few days early.

What constitutes a growing day though? We've had such a run of cold days would it really be fair to say that 2 units would be used up those days?