Questions on herd number and land purchase

King of the town

Hi all, firstly apologies is this is the wrong forum. It's my first time posting here as I have just come across the website while trying to find answers to a few questions that I have. I was even struggling to come up with a thread title as there are a few different aspects to the situation and we are struggling to get answers to different aspects. For clarity I'm based in Ireland

The situation is that a parcel of land has come up for sale approx 3 hectares. It's an ideal piece of land to buy as it links two blocks of land on the home farm which have always been split by the neighbours fields (the ones now for sale). So this is where things get a little complicated.

Currently the farm is all in my fathers name and the herd number is in his name only. I have not commenced farming but I have just completed the green cert so I would qualify as a young trained farmer. We are very interested in buying this land but want to structure it as best we can.

I'm under 35 so it make the most sense for me to buy it in my name as I can avail of the stamp duty relief thus saving a nice chunk of money. The simplest thing would then be to go under a joint herd number but this would prevent me from applying to the national reserve for entitlements on the parcel of land (the seller is not selling the entitlements and in any case Id rather get them for free rather than buy them) as our combined off farm income would be well in excess of the 40k limit. In fact my own income is in excess of this but in 2018 I took a few months off between jobs so nominating that year would scrape me under the limit so I could apply but only on my own.