Grass testing Nitrogen

Discussion in 'Grassland Management' started by bk1991, May 14, 2019.

1. bk1991

bk1991 Well-Known Member

So what way is best to get the nitrogen levels tested in grass and is there any other tests that should be done for cutting silage ? I have put 4 bags of 18/6/12 out on the silage ground which wasnt grazed since oct so theres a fair bit of grass on field and i dont want it to go too long .
    Bearingin mind I am only learning the past 2 years as the bods man usualy took care of that side of things . I know i let the grass go to stemy the first year .

2. Peter

Peter Well-Known Member

When did you spread the fertiliser? Grass uses around two units of nitrogen per growing day. You can get the Grass tested if you're still doubtful.

3. bk1991

bk1991 Well-Known Member

Was out the 22 of april. So that would leave it roughly 27th may ? I was chatting a dairy man and he told me to try get tested before it incase its gone before the 2unit day guide ? Is it worth it ?

4. AYF

AYF Well-Known Member

Get it tested. Simple enough to do. And a cheap insurance.

5. Blackwater boy

Blackwater boy Moderator

2 units a day is a rough guide but it could take 7-10 days to get t washed in and into the plant and working. Test it, get onto local merchant or coop and they will either test it for you or guide you in the right direction.

kverneland es 80 likes this.
  6. Crystal 8011

Crystal 8011 Active Member

Cutting in the afternoon and wilting for 24hrs will give higher sugar levels in the grass so will help for better quality silage if your inclined to cut a few days early.

7. nashmach

nashmach Moderator

What constitutes a growing day though? We've had such a run of cold days would it really be fair to say that 2 units would be used up those days?

8. Bcl

Bcl Well-Known Member

Think that the 2 units a day is used as an average guide over a few weeks, might use up 1 unit today but 3 tomorrow etc

9. bk1991

bk1991 Well-Known Member