Tough mobile phones

DINAS

Ive got a Samsung 2100 red colour which is water & shock proof, been a great phone for outdoor use.

Current model is 2710 in black colour.

My area has reduced Orange signal and they say the 2100 isnt good at picking up the poor signal. They dont think the 2710 will be any better.

Trying to sell me a "smart phone" which has better signal reception, but I know these smart phones are not tough/water/dust proof

What do you guys use?

currently using a nokia lumia windows phone and it seems to be standing up to farm life quite well ,I have the 3g shut off as it doesnt work here and it seems to help 2g signal ,battery lasts all day and it syncs with all my contacts on outlook so all get backed up every day .it took me a few days to get used to it though
if you need waterproof Panasonic have a new mobile out which would fit the bill there but not used one so cant comment their phones are running on android so should be fine

I'm no expert, but I don't believe a smartphone will have any better signal reception. It would be the other way around, I thought... :001_unsure:
Maybe the salesperson gets a better commission from smartphone sales...... :rolleyes:

is any other network better? on 3 here but they wouldn't give me a tough phone. so I managed to get a samsung B2710 on some deal, £10 down, and so much for the contract per month, on orange, but.... if you never use the sim card, contract never starts, so sim went in the fire first thing, got it un locked for another £10, cheap phone!

think the deal was through national fallen stock company

was something in the farmers weekly about a tough I phone type thing launching soon?

Ive got the samsung the same as yours , I had the red one and I now have the black one , the black one has better coverage , my wife has a nokia and I have better coverage than her when we are in the house , all the insulation keeps the signal out , but the samsung works where the nokia wont.