Arduino v PLC v Raspberry PI

aidank

I have a little project Im going taking on soon.

I will have 2 level sensors, 5X 24V solenoids valves and a flowmeter to turn on off based on a mix of time and the quantity through flowmeter and level sensors.

The wiring and relays etc Im competent on, however the programming I have no experience with.

I used to do Matlab years ago solving v complex differential equations, however I have no experience of Arduino or Raspberry Pi or PLC. I did PLCs some PLC programming a long time ago now that I recall, before either Arduino or Raspberry pi were invented.

Anyone able to advise should I purchase full PLC or can Arduino or Raspberry Pi be programmed to control my system.

I have a little project Im going taking on soon.

I will have 2 level sensors, 5X 24V solenoids valves and a flowmeter to turn on off based on a mix of time and the quantity through flowmeter and level sensors.

The wiring and relays etc Im competent on, however the programming I have no experience with.

I used to do Matlab years ago solving v complex differential equations, however I have no experience of Arduino or Raspberry Pi or PLC. I did PLCs some PLC programming a long time ago now that I recall, before either Arduino or Raspberry pi were invented.

Anyone able to advise should I purchase full PLC or can Arduino or Raspberry Pi be programmed to control my system.
I’ve no experience whatsoever using a Raspberry Pi but I have using Arduino and PLCs. I’d be trying to stay away from a PLC if you could at all, just due to the sheer cost alone, as it seems you’ll need 1 analogue input, 2 digital inputs and 5 digital outputs. Most PLCs will have to have software bought for programming too.